Conference of Arctic Parlamentarians (CPAR)

The Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region (CPAR) is a parliamentary body comprising delegations appointed by the national parliaments of the Arctic states (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, U.S.A.) and the European Parliament. The conference also includes Permanent Participants representing Indigenous peoples, as well as observers. The conference meets every two years, and the Eleventh  Conference was held in the Whitehorse, Canada 9-11 September 2014.


Chair of SCPAR speaks at "Arctic Futures Symposium" in Brussels
Mr Eirik Sivertsen was a key note speaker at the "Arctic Futures Symposium" in Brussels 17-18 November 2015. The topic was economic development in the Arctic.
Thursday 19 Nov 2015
Chair of SCPAR address Nordic Council session in Reykjavik
The Chair of the Standing Committee Mr. Eirik Sivertsen participated as a guest at the Nordic Council session in Reykjavik 27-29 October 2015.
Wednesday 04 Nov 2015
New member of SCPAR from Denmark/Greenland
Ms. Aaja Chemnitz Larsen is elected to represent the Danish parliament in the Standing Committee.
Monday 26 Oct 2015


The first Parliamentary Conference concerning Arctic cooperation was held in Reykjavik, Iceland in 1993. One of the main priorities of the Standing Committee was originally to support the establishment of the Arctic Council
Learn more

Recent conference

The 11th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region was hosted by the Canadian parliament in Whitehorse 9 ...