Contact information

Ms Sara Olsvig, MP
Chair of the Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region

Bjørn Willy Robstad
Secretary General
Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region
Stortinget, The Parliament of Norway
Karl Johansgt. 22
0026 Oslo, Norway
E-mail: bwr@stortinget.no
Tel: +47 2331 3603
Fax: +47 2331 3862

The Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region is a biennial conference for parliamentarians representing the eight Arctic countries and the European Parliament. The first Parliamentary Conference concerning Arctic cooperation was held in Reykjavik, Iceland in 1993. The next conference will be held in the Whitehorse, Canada 9-11 September 2014.

The biennial conference is attended by representatives from the national parliaments of the Arctic states and the European Parliament. The Arctic indigenous peoples are permanent participants to the cooperation. Observers participate from governments and inter-parliamentary organizations as well as from observer states and relevant international organizations.

The Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region, which is responsible for the work between conferences, started its activities in September 1994. The Standing Committee meets 3-4 times a year in the different Arctic countries to discuss current Arctic issues and the follow-up of the Conference Statement from the latest conference.

One of the main priorities of the Standing Committee was originally to support the establishment of the Arctic Council. Since then the Standing Committee has worked actively to promote the work of the Council and participates in the meetings of the Arctic Council as an observer. Today the Committee is engaged in topics like: shipping possibilities, education and research, human development and climate change.


The Arctic Council
The Arctic Council was established on September 19th, 1996 in Ottawa, Canada. A high level intergovernmental forum, the Council provides a mechanism to address the common concerns and challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the people of the Arctic.

Northern Forum
The Northern Forum is an international organization made up of regional governments in the world's northern regions.

The Nordic Council
A parliamentary platform for Nordic co-operation between the governments of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.