Standing Committee

The first Parliamentary Conference concerning Arctic cooperation was held in Reykjavik, Iceland in 1993. The following Arctic parliamentary conferences have been held in Yellowknife, Canada; Salekhard, Russia, Rovaniemi, Finland, Tromsø, Norway, Nuuk, Greenland, Kiruna, Sweden and Fairbanks, the USA. 

The Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region, which is responsible for the work between conferences, started its activities in September 1994.

One of the main priorities of the Standing Committee was originally to support the establishment of the Arctic Council. The new organization, representing the eight Arctic states (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the USA) and the European Parliament was founded on 19 September 1996. Since then the Committee has worked actively to promote the work of the Council. The Committee participates in the meetings of the Arctic Council as an observer.

News & Activities

SCPAR meeting in Bodø 24 May 2016
The Standing Committee will meet in Bodø 24 May 2016. The main topic for the meeting is search and rescue i ...
Wednesday 04 May 2016
Hon. Larry Bagnell new Vice-Chair of SCPAR
Mr Larry Bagnell was elected new Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee at the meeting in Stockholm 3 March 2016.
Friday 04 Mar 2016
New members of SCPAR from Canada
Hon Larry Bagnell and Mr. Larry Maguire are new members of SCPAR from Canada.
Monday 29 Feb 2016
Agenda for the SCPAR meeting in Stockholm 3 March 2016
The agenda for the meeting of Standing Committee in Stockholm 3 March 2016 is ready.
Thursday 25 Feb 2016
SCPAR meeting in Stockholm 3 March 2016
The next meeting of the Standing Committee will take place in Stockholm 3 March 2016. The meeting is hosted by the ...
Tuesday 09 Feb 2016
More activities & Conferences...
MP, Parliament of Norway, Chair of the Standing Committee
MP, Parliament of Finland, Centre Party
Senator, United States Senate
MEP, European Parliament
Member of the Swedish parliament
Council of Federation, Russia
MP State Duma, Russia
Member of the House of Commons, Parliament of Canada
Member of the House of Commons, Parliament of Canada
MP, Parliament of Iceland
MP, Parliament of Denmark