10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region 5-7 September 2012

The 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region took place in Akureyri, Iceland 5-7 September 2012 and was hosted by the Parliament of Iceland - Althingi.


General documents

Program 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region.

List of participants, CPAR 10

Conferece statement from the 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region

Conference report from the 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region

Opening session

The Conference was opened by  the Speaker of Althingi H.E. Ms Asta Ragnheidur Johannesdottir.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs in Iceland Mr Össur Skarphedinsson followed the Speaker by addressing the Conference participants.

The Chair of the Icelandic delegation to the Arctic parliamentary cooperation Ms. Gudfridur Lilja Gretarsdottir, welcomed the participants to Iceland and Akureyri.

The opening session included reports of activities from the Arctic Council and the Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region.

Ambassador Gustaf Lind reported on behalf of the Swedish presidency of the Arctic Council. Sweden holds the Chair until May 2013 when Canada takes over.

Mr Morten Høglund reported on the activities of the Standing Committee since the Arctic parliamentary conference in 2010.

Mr Morten Høglund presents the work of the Standing Committee


The Vice-Chair of SCPAR Ms Gudfridur Lilja Gretarsdottir and the Chair of SCPAR Mr Morten Høglund chaired the opening session in Akureyri.

1st Session: Arctic Governance and the Arctic Council

The first speaker was Mr Clifford Lincoln former MP in Canada and former chair of SCPAR.

The second speaker in session one was Ms Ann-Kristin Johansson, MP and member of SCPAR. In her report she focused on the report from SCPAR "Arctic governance in an evolving Arctic Region".

The final speaker in this session was Dr Valur Ingimundarson Professor at the University of Iceland.  

2nd Session: Economic Opportunities in the Arctic

Senator Lisa Murkowski, from the US Congress gave the first presentation.

Ms Johanna Ojala-Niemelä from Finland gave the second presentation.

The first two speakers at the second session, Ms Ojala-Niemalä and Senator Lisa Murkowski.

The third speaker was Dr. M Slipenchuk, Deputy Chair of the State Duma Committee on Natural resources, Environment and Ecology. His intervention in Russian.

Mr Tero Vauraste, President and CEO of Arctica Shipping Ltd, and Mr Felix Tschudi, Chairman of Tschudi Shipping Co. presented the views from the business sector.

3rd session: Human development in the Arctic: Interplay of Research, Authorities and Residents

Senator Torlopov, Ms Ojala-Niemalä and Mr Miller.

Ms Sara Olsvig MP  from Denmark/Greenland was the first speaker at the last session.

Mr Larry Miller and Mr Dennis Bevington MPs from Canada presented the Canadian perspective.

The third speaker was Dr Joan Nymand-Larsen who presented the work with the Second Arctic Human Development Report.

The fourth and final speaker was Dr David Hik, President of the International Arctic Science Committee.

Friday 14 Sep 2012